Random thoughts about “A Lesson Before Dying”

So I have to read “a lesson before dying” for English. It’s a decent book if a little depressing (as the title may suggest).
I’m about half way through it and I have come to a conclusion about the main character, a teacher in the black community before the civil rights movement of the 60s.
Both him and his predecessor are so…. Hopeless. And full of contempt of self.
The more I read, the surer I become (unless the author throws a crazy, curveball plot twist.), that if we allow ourselves to be defined by others. If we let other people decide our identity and worth. We give over all control over our hopes, goals and strengths to someone who has no care for who or what we become.

About Christiana Michel

Sinner Saved By Grace, Music Aficionado, Book Worm, Wannabe Writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment